dwarf-doc.git
9 years agoCorrects verbatim to be alltt in one crucial spot
David Anderson [Tue, 13 Nov 2012 17:53:01 +0000 (09:53 -0800)]
Corrects  verbatim to be alltt in one crucial spot
so an example looks right and its attribute uses
are indexed.
typeentries.tex

9 years agocompression.tex
David Anderson [Tue, 13 Nov 2012 03:25:46 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
compression.tex
datarepresentation.tex
foreword.tex
generaldescription.tex
introduction.tex
otherdebugginginformation.tex
programscope.tex
sectionversionnumbers.tex
typeentries.tex

This completes the d* index entries.
At least a decent first cut at them.

9 years agoMore d* index entries added.
David Anderson [Sat, 10 Nov 2012 17:41:55 +0000 (09:41 -0800)]
More d* index entries added.

9 years agoThis does indexing of more d* words and phrases.
David Anderson [Sun, 4 Nov 2012 17:54:00 +0000 (09:54 -0800)]
This does indexing of more d* words and phrases.

9 years agoIndex v and other stuff
Ron Brender [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 14:33:07 +0000 (10:33 -0400)]
Index v and other stuff

9 years agoTry .jpq version of DWlogo
Ron Brender [Sun, 21 Oct 2012 20:25:01 +0000 (16:25 -0400)]
Try .jpq version of DWlogo

9 years agoIndexing the b* entries, completed here.
David Anderson [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 16:38:57 +0000 (09:38 -0700)]
Indexing the b* entries, completed here.
A few "See Section" things were not proper \refersec, fixed thouse.
A few instances of "something" were present and those are now
in latex form ``something'' . Except in examples, where "" is
fine as is.

9 years agoFinished indexing the a* entries up through
David Anderson [Wed, 10 Oct 2012 14:48:24 +0000 (07:48 -0700)]
Finished indexing the a* entries up through
  'beginning of a data member'

9 years ago Updated date string in dwarf5.tex.
David Anderson [Mon, 8 Oct 2012 22:26:07 +0000 (15:26 -0700)]
  Updated date string in dwarf5.tex.

Fixed  the attributes table in generaldescription.tex so
it uses lower case for indexing where appropriate instead
of the capitals appearing in the table itself.

10 years agoIndexes more entries starting with a.
David Anderson [Sun, 23 Sep 2012 21:44:16 +0000 (14:44 -0700)]
Indexes more entries starting with a.
Noticed livelink commands in the attributes table result in index entries
starting with capital letters, which was not my intent.
Changed some to livelinki and there are many more to do.
A few of the non-A language name entries were indexed too, though
there is more to do for the other language index entries.

10 years agoChanges to add index entries completing all of them up
David Anderson [Sun, 23 Sep 2012 21:35:36 +0000 (14:35 -0700)]
Changes  to add index entries completing all of them up
through 'abstract'.  In 4.1 Latex.
Not quite half of the first page of index entries
done once these committed.

Working through the abstract instance examples it was
natural to do some of the
concrete instance example indexing too.

Explained in READMEindexing how to get < and > characters to print.

10 years agoThis shortens the often-long line of ....
David Anderson [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 18:04:40 +0000 (11:04 -0700)]
This shortens the often-long line of ....
in tools/dw4index.txt  and tools/dw4sortedindex.txt
as we don't need all those dots for anything. They were
an artifact of copy/paste of the DWARF4 pdf index data.

10 years agoAdds index entries for all .debug_* and a couple other
David Anderson [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 18:01:21 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
Adds index entries for all .debug_* and a couple other
index entries beginning with '.'.
The section-relationships page was missing .debug_types,
now that name is in its proper place (per the DW4 doc).

10 years agoAdds index entries for all the index entries in DW4 that
David Anderson [Mon, 17 Sep 2012 20:34:10 +0000 (13:34 -0700)]
Adds index entries for all the  index entries in DW4 that
begin with 'address'
Also adds  two latex commands to simplify indexing.

10 years agoDW_AT_t* through DW_AT_v* attributes table entries done.
David Anderson [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 15:48:00 +0000 (08:48 -0700)]
DW_AT_t* through DW_AT_v* attributes table entries done.
So now the chapter 2 attributes table has all its links.

10 years agoAttributes table AT_f* i* l* now has links
David Anderson [Sun, 9 Sep 2012 17:39:12 +0000 (10:39 -0700)]
Attributes table AT_f* i* l* now has links
to attribute use (definitions of use).

10 years agoAttributes table links from AT_p* r* s* attributes now added
David Anderson [Sun, 9 Sep 2012 17:35:37 +0000 (10:35 -0700)]
Attributes table links from AT_p* r* s* attributes now added

10 years agoAT_m n o links from attribute table (chap 2) to document
David Anderson [Sun, 9 Sep 2012 17:32:12 +0000 (10:32 -0700)]
AT_m n o  links from attribute table (chap 2) to document
where the use documented now exist.

10 years agoAdds DW_AT_d* links to attributes table.
David Anderson [Thu, 6 Sep 2012 17:33:25 +0000 (10:33 -0700)]
Adds DW_AT_d* links to attributes table.

10 years agoThis is DW_AT_e* links implementation in the attributes table.
David Anderson [Thu, 6 Sep 2012 17:31:44 +0000 (10:31 -0700)]
This is DW_AT_e* links implementation in  the attributes table.

10 years agoDW_AT_c* in attribute table now linked per DWARF4.
David Anderson [Tue, 4 Sep 2012 16:55:00 +0000 (09:55 -0700)]
DW_AT_c* in attribute table now linked per DWARF4.

10 years agoDwarf-Workgroup DW_AT_b linking attributes in 4.1
David Anderson [Sat, 1 Sep 2012 18:37:59 +0000 (11:37 -0700)]
Dwarf-Workgroup DW_AT_b linking attributes in 4.1
nearly 48 hours passed, no objections so commit these
linking improvements.

10 years agoUpdated READMEindexing with a hint for folks making mods.
David Anderson [Fri, 3 Aug 2012 01:30:46 +0000 (18:30 -0700)]
Updated READMEindexing with a hint for folks making mods.

10 years agoBegan the insertions of live links into the DW_AT_ table,
David Anderson [Wed, 1 Aug 2012 19:48:19 +0000 (12:48 -0700)]
Began the insertions of live links into the DW_AT_ table,
following the organization of the DWARF4 document.

READMEindexing has a new comment mentioning a seemingly
obvious thing to do that does not quite work (errors during pdf build).

10 years agoAdded READMEindexing document to explain indexing.
David Anderson [Thu, 26 Jul 2012 15:31:30 +0000 (08:31 -0700)]
Added READMEindexing document to explain indexing.
Added addtoindexi as a newcommand in dwarf5.tex

10 years agodw4index.txt is a text representation of the DWARF4 document
David Anderson [Sun, 17 Jun 2012 19:57:50 +0000 (12:57 -0700)]
dw4index.txt is a text representation of the DWARF4 document
index, with each entry on a single line.
dw4sortedindex.txt is the same file sorted by entry name.
The hope is these will be useful in ensuring the 4.1 index
is complete enough.

10 years agoReferences to class block are now all linked, it seems.
David Anderson [Sun, 17 Jun 2012 18:34:20 +0000 (11:34 -0700)]
References to class block are now all linked, it seems.
Fortran Common block references are now linked.
basic_block references are not yet linked, and
a few other 'block' strings not handled, the proper
target is not yet set.

10 years agoThis finishes the 'flag' links, which
David Anderson [Sun, 17 Jun 2012 17:10:30 +0000 (10:10 -0700)]
This finishes the 'flag' links, which
may all be correct now. Some of the block links
are present but not all are correct.

10 years agoAll uses of block now either a livelink, livetarg, or nolink.
David Anderson [Wed, 6 Jun 2012 17:50:28 +0000 (10:50 -0700)]
All uses of block now either a livelink, livetarg, or nolink.

10 years agoAdd nolink and noindex commands and use them
David Anderson [Wed, 6 Jun 2012 17:29:06 +0000 (10:29 -0700)]
Add nolink and noindex commands and use them
to finish up handling the word flag where it would be
silly to link.

10 years agoAdd livelink to the flag uses (class flag).
David Anderson [Mon, 4 Jun 2012 23:33:10 +0000 (16:33 -0700)]
Add livelink to the flag uses (class flag).

10 years agoUpdate the comments at the head of various .py files
David Anderson [Mon, 4 Jun 2012 17:07:00 +0000 (10:07 -0700)]
Update the comments at the head of various .py files
so they better reflect what the python really does.

10 years agoAdds more tests to uses.py (and updates tests results),
David Anderson [Mon, 4 Jun 2012 16:45:40 +0000 (09:45 -0700)]
Adds more tests to uses.py (and updates tests results),
more ways to look for typos in .tex

10 years agoNow uses.py reports on all unused link targets
David Anderson [Mon, 4 Jun 2012 16:10:18 +0000 (09:10 -0700)]
Now uses.py reports on all unused link targets
(some are to be expected, a few represent work to be completed in .tex
files)

10 years agoUses.py found a couple duplicated targets, I fixed those in
David Anderson [Sun, 3 Jun 2012 21:52:19 +0000 (14:52 -0700)]
Uses.py found a couple duplicated targets, I fixed those in
 tex and changed the duplicated targets output of uses.py to
be easier to read.

10 years agoNow uses.py works much better, and the test cases are more complete.
David Anderson [Sun, 3 Jun 2012 21:35:08 +0000 (14:35 -0700)]
Now uses.py works much better, and the test cases are more complete.
It now recognizes a comment as such, which helps in checking
the real .tex files. And it skips the newcommand command in tex,
again helping avoid pointless warnings.

10 years agoNow uses.py properly reads in tex (for its purposes)
David Anderson [Sun, 3 Jun 2012 20:34:38 +0000 (13:34 -0700)]
Now uses.py properly reads in tex (for its purposes)
and skips newcommand (those not relevant to uses.py

10 years agoThe new uses.py tool is the first stage of looking for
David Anderson [Sun, 3 Jun 2012 18:17:46 +0000 (11:17 -0700)]
The new uses.py tool  is the first stage of looking for
and finding questionable entries in the document without
having to interpret latex messages.

Duplicate and missing labels etc.
This creates the reader and modifies all so we continue
to reuse fileio.py everywhere.  With regression tests
included.

No change to the document .tex files.

10 years agoSeems like all the DW_ codes and references and index entries
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 21:59:28 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
Seems like all the DW_ codes and references and index entries
have now been created.

10 years agoCreated links and targets for DW_LNE_ DW_LNS_ DW_MACINFO_ .
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 21:49:36 +0000 (14:49 -0700)]
Created links and targets for  DW_LNE_ DW_LNS_  DW_MACINFO_ .

10 years agoAdded links and targets for
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 21:38:43 +0000 (14:38 -0700)]
Added links and targets for
DW_END_   DW_ID_  DW_INL_  DW_LANG_

10 years ago Added links and targets for DW_DSC_ DW_DS_ DW_END_
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 21:23:58 +0000 (14:23 -0700)]
 Added links and targets for DW_DSC_  DW_DS_  DW_END_

10 years agoAdded links and targets for
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 21:09:38 +0000 (14:09 -0700)]
Added links and targets for
DW_CC_  DW_CFA_  DW_CHILDREN_

10 years agoLinks for DW_ATE and DW_ADDR added in.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 20:55:01 +0000 (13:55 -0700)]
Links for DW_ATE and DW_ADDR added in.

10 years agoAdds DW_ACCESS and DW_OP links.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 20:45:36 +0000 (13:45 -0700)]
Adds DW_ACCESS and DW_OP links.

10 years agoAdded comments on the use of anylink.py and added
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 19:55:51 +0000 (12:55 -0700)]
Added comments on the use of anylink.py and added
hopefully useful message when it is run incorrectly.

10 years agoNow we can fix up links in groups if we wish. Or all at once.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 19:46:54 +0000 (12:46 -0700)]
Now we can fix up links in groups if we wish. Or all at once.
With test code too.

10 years agoNow all the FORM linkages are in place.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 17:22:26 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
Now all the FORM linkages are in place.

10 years agoCreated formlink.py and test code.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 16:34:42 +0000 (09:34 -0700)]
Created formlink.py and test code.

10 years agoAttributes are now linked from use to the table.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 16:21:31 +0000 (09:21 -0700)]
Attributes are now linked from use to the table.
The table with attr. meanings does not yet link to
the various descriptions.
There were a few trivial mistakes in the examples
and the compression chapter and one or two
in debug section relationships exposed by the links failing
(now that the links are made for attributes).

10 years agoIn a few places in the compression appendix there was a :
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 15:51:51 +0000 (08:51 -0700)]
In a few places in the compression appendix there was a :
right next to an attribute name.  That conflicted with
use of python tools, so in a few places in compression.tex
an extra space was useful.

10 years agoNow unified the actual code for introducing livelink
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 15:09:54 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Now unified the actual code for introducing livelink
into a single file. Callers just pass in the crucial string
to say what to change.  new files: anylink.py attrlink.py
and test files.

10 years agoUsing tohyphen.py, change all the DW_* entries to allow
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 14:46:02 +0000 (07:46 -0700)]
Using tohyphen.py, change all the DW_* entries to allow
the hyphenated form (when latex allows and wants a line break)

10 years agoCreated tohypyen.py to clean up all DW_* entries
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 14:29:23 +0000 (07:29 -0700)]
Created tohypyen.py to clean up all DW_* entries
so latex can adjust lines right.

10 years agoAdded tools/printstandard.py and some regression tests.
David Anderson [Thu, 31 May 2012 14:08:41 +0000 (07:08 -0700)]
Added tools/printstandard.py and some regression tests.
Added a bit to README.

10 years agoThe new taglink.py app created links from all uses of TAGS
David Anderson [Wed, 30 May 2012 22:50:04 +0000 (15:50 -0700)]
The new taglink.py app created links from all uses of TAGS
to the their definition.
The commit shows all these.
In addition I noted an erroneous FIXME (the text was
already complete) and deleted it.
A couple places used the ascii double-quote symbol, those
are now changed to the latex-standard `` and '' symbols.
Modified the python tests very slightly for better coverage
so modified the expected results too.

10 years agoCorrected some livetarg uses and added some livelink
David Anderson [Wed, 30 May 2012 18:26:16 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Corrected some livetarg uses and added some livelink
uses to TAGs where before we had addtoindex.
So all the TAGs have targets for live links (links which
will be generated, not hand created).

10 years agoAll the TAG definition points are now marked with \livetarg.
David Anderson [Wed, 30 May 2012 17:58:39 +0000 (10:58 -0700)]
All the TAG definition points are now marked with \livetarg.

10 years agorefclassfixup.py fixes up some class references.
David Anderson [Tue, 29 May 2012 20:36:03 +0000 (13:36 -0700)]
refclassfixup.py fixes up some class references.
The places changed to add the live links are in
dataobject.tex datarepresentation.tex debugsectionrelationships.tex
generaldescription.tex  using refclassfixup.py to effect the
source changes.  Note that using label and hyperref
in the live* commands defined in dwarf5.tex result in
incorrect links in the pdf (not clear why) so we use
hyperlink and hypertarget instead for now.

10 years agorefclassfixup.py will find uses of the class terms
David Anderson [Tue, 29 May 2012 18:36:17 +0000 (11:36 -0700)]
refclassfixup.py will find uses of the class terms
an turn them in to livelink (unless already transformed).

10 years agoFinished making the class table definitions use livetargi
David Anderson [Tue, 29 May 2012 17:02:53 +0000 (10:02 -0700)]
Finished making the class table definitions use livetargi
command (some got left out in previous commit). in
generaldescription.tex.

10 years agoAdded the livetargi command and use it when creating
David Anderson [Tue, 29 May 2012 16:53:47 +0000 (09:53 -0700)]
Added the livetargi command and use it when creating
the index entries for the experloc and other class definitions.

10 years agoAn initial set of text tools to help with
David Anderson [Tue, 29 May 2012 16:31:38 +0000 (09:31 -0700)]
An initial set of text tools to help with
making latex fully indexed etc.
This initial commit just has print and copy tools
and tests to verify correct operation of those tools.

10 years agoThe examples of internal live links now work, and
David Anderson [Mon, 28 May 2012 17:08:15 +0000 (10:08 -0700)]
The examples of internal live links now work, and
the livelink and livetarg commands (defined in dwarf5.tex)
now order their arguments like the real hyperlink and also
generate index entries.  See the DW_OP definitions
and DW_TAG_access_declaration  for examples.

10 years agoJakub J. noticed I typed DW_AT_call_ref when DW_OP_call_ref
David Anderson [Tue, 15 May 2012 20:37:47 +0000 (13:37 -0700)]
Jakub J. noticed I typed DW_AT_call_ref when DW_OP_call_ref
is meant (in debugsectionrelationships.tex). Fixed.

10 years agoAdded debug section relationships graph.
David Anderson [Sun, 13 May 2012 21:57:25 +0000 (14:57 -0700)]
Added debug section relationships graph.
It could use some refinement for visual
appeal, but this is a readable first version.

10 years agoRenamed one file (removing appendix prefix from name)
David Anderson [Sun, 13 May 2012 17:51:36 +0000 (10:51 -0700)]
Renamed one file (removing appendix prefix from name)
and refer to it from dwarf5.tex under new file name.
Now is debugsectionrelationships.tex.

10 years agoThis completes the text, one thinks.
David Anderson [Sun, 13 May 2012 17:34:13 +0000 (10:34 -0700)]
This completes the text, one thinks.
All the existing text is represented in
a form that is similar to the DWARF4 document.
As similar as seems possible.

10 years agoChanged internal 5 to 4.1 while we work on
David Anderson [Sun, 13 May 2012 15:00:02 +0000 (08:00 -0700)]
Changed internal 5 to 4.1 while we work on
getting this to be a complete dwarf4 document before
adding dwarf5 changes.

10 years agoInitial commit of a work-in-progress of latex source
David Anderson [Thu, 10 May 2012 15:48:42 +0000 (08:48 -0700)]
Initial commit of a work-in-progress of latex source
for DWARF5.

10 years agoAdd Microsoft Word sources for document
Michael Eager [Sat, 14 Apr 2012 23:03:16 +0000 (16:03 -0700)]
Add Microsoft Word sources for document